Sam Raimi mask webbing

zachklausner47

I’m currently making a Sam Raimi Spider-Man mask and I’m trying to find out it it would be cheaper just to cast my own urethane webbing. How would I go about casting my own webbing?

Since the side of the webs that attaches to the suit is flat, you can get away with a one-part mold.

There are a ton of online resources out there on how to do this, so I would defer you to the experts on that.

Sean

I'm very new to this and all I have is a 3d Printer. My thought would be to print the webbing and then make a plaster mold for example to pour urethane into. Would this be possible

I have a little experience with this. Yes, you can use a 3d printer to make the webbing "bucks", and then create a mold from it. However, I personally would avoid a plaster mold, and would aim to create a silicone mold; the reason for this is that plaster molds are typically one-use, and with the webbing being so thin there is a good chance you will rip it and need to pour another. Going through the process of making another plaster mold would just waste time

I have a little experience with this. Yes, you can use a 3d printer to make the webbing "bucks", and then create a mold from it. However, I personally would avoid a plaster mold, and would aim to create a silicone mold; the reason for this is that plaster molds are typically one-use, and with the webbing being so thin there is a good chance you will rip it and need to pour another. Going through the process of making another plaster mold would just waste time
Thank you so much, one more thing where do I get the urethane?

Does anyone know if there is another material besides urethane or even similar to make the webs? Does silicone work?
silicone may work, but be aware you may have trouble getting it to stick. The only thing silicone sticks really well to is silicone, so if you plan on attempting with silicone use a silicone based glue to attach it.