Rubies Vader Modification

Discussion in 'Star Wars Costumes and Props' started by leviticus, Aug 28, 2015.

1. leviticus

leviticus Active Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Hello,
    I am a long time Star Wars fan, but I am new to the hobby.
    I always wanted a Darth Vader helmet, but I couldn't afford a decent one.
    I decided to modify a Rubies helmet since I already had plenty of the tools to modify one.
    I am getting close to the finish, but I need to redo the dome.

Attached Files:

chefhawk and mugatu like this.
  2. leviticus

DSC_0014.JPG 1437371947857.jpg DSC_0016.JPG 1437429343134.jpg 1437371792387.jpg DSC_0012.JPG 1437371792029.jpg Some photos from the mod process.

omel and mugatu like this.
  3. leviticus

The plastic that the helmet is made of is not always the easiest material to work with.
    I also could have saved myself some time and effort if I would have used higher grit sandpaper.
    View attachment 520955

4. leviticus

I worked on the modifications for about a month and I am still working on getting the correct lens type and new tusks.
    My main reference for my mod was Quasimodo by CSMacLaren, the Quasimodo helmet is to me the best ANH helmet out there.

- - - Updated - - -

more 1437429343134.jpg 1438176557761.jpg DSC_0005.JPG

Last edited: Oct 1, 2015
    mugatu and CSMacLaren like this.
  5. CSMacLaren

CSMacLaren Sr Member

My main references for Quasimodo were screen captures of the screen-used, which is the best ANH helmet out there. :thumbsup

leviticus likes this.
  6. leviticus

true nothing can beat the original, but your helmets definitely come close.

CSMacLaren and mugatu like this.
  7. mugatu

mugatu Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

I love seeing Vader helmets get refined. So much patience and determination involved. I'll be following this build.

8. Sym-Cha

Sym-Cha Master Member

Great work in progress ... alas those attachments in post #3 and #4 are not working for me ... please try again :)

Chaim

9. Celtic007