Rebelmodo: Darth Vader from Star Wars Rebels

CSMacLaren

Sr Member
After six months of painstaking study and trial and error in studying the shape of Darth Vader's helmet in "Star Wars: Rebels", I'm finally at a point in my progress to show you the results of my studies.

Rebelmodo-First-Comp_zpsjmys1zpb.jpg

When I was first asked to take on this design over on 501stSithLords.com, I initially regarded this as a simple project, given how toy like it was, and looked down upon it initially as oversimplified. However, the more I studied it, I found that my initial impressions were wrong. While there are very obvious features such as the cheeks, nose, etc. that might in themselves be easily duplicated, the subtleties, shape, flow, interrelationships, proportions, etc. were entirely another matter. This was no walk-in-the-park to reproduce a believable likeness beyond just a passing or generic semblance. Moreover, my work nowadays focuses on having the presence and emotion of the character emerge, whether my sculpt is oil based clay, epoxy clay, or - in this case - a digital medium; the artistic disciplines still applies.

Once again, I will be working with prop maker Bookface, the maker of my Quasimodo V2 helmets. We've shared some observations on how to realistically bring out the look of the character's on-screen appearance - just like we did with Quasimodo V2 ANH, ESB and the soon-to-come ROTJ. Shooting it all black would not do this justice. There are tonalities and surface reflections and refractions we're going to explore.