R.I.P. Eddie Money

0neiros

Master Member
I Read an article about the Coming apocalyse Rock and Roll is facing, as so many Big names are 70+ Bruce Sprinsteen is 70, Yikes.
He was known for being great with his fans
My favorite story is when he was in the studio working on "Take me home tonight", and said he just felt silly singing "Be My little Baby" sSo he thought Why not get little Ronnie herself to sing it? So he had his agent track her down and he calls her and introduces himself and says "So, what are you doing?" She replies "What am I doing? I'm doing the dishes that's what I'm doing." That song relaunched both of their careers.

Always liked his music. When I was a kid I saw him play at pine knob. Great show.

I didn't know that Ronnie Spector story. That's funny!

In another life, I worked in the music industry. Of all the musicians I would become acquainted with, Eddie was the one who never disappointed. Not just on a professional level but a personal one. Nothing pretentious; could've been your next door neighbor. Just a good spirit who loved music and wanted to share it.

I watched him play his saxophone (on a dirty loading dock) for a janitor's kids backstage once. "They love this!" He got as much joy out of playing with those kids as he did a packed house. At another event he signed autographs for St, Judes while in agonizing pain after a show. "What's a good catholic boy to do?!"

He was the type of guy who wouldn't jump on the bus until he found you and said goodbye. The last time I saw him he said, "Where's Rhonda?" (Rhonda is my wife) and we spent 20 minutes running her down just so he could say bye and sing the line "She's always been a good, good girl.." from one of his songs to her. Just the kinda guy who not only made you feel welcome and appreciated but included everyone in your orbit, too.

Very sad for his family and those who loved him.

-Ry