Question: Why do people make moulds and casts of 3D prints?

Psychobob

Hello,

Hopefully I'm posting this in the correct section, apologies if I'm not.

I have been a long time amateur 3D modeller and recently I have been getting into the whole, turning your virtual 3D models into physical 3D models world, and I must say I'm enjoying it!

I have printed 2 3D models so far via SLS (below are examples) and they tend to be small as I'm generally on a budget.

Tron Light cycle
Shapeways | Forum: It arrived! => Tron LightCycle

Dead Space Helmet
Shapeways | Forum: It arrived! => USB powered Helmet light

Getting past my intro spiel and onto my question

This forum has some great threads I've been reading and one thing I have noticed, is out of those who don't scratch build and 3D print, they tend to make moulds of their 3D prints and re-cast (hope I'm using the right terminology there; sorry, I'm new to all of this :behave).

Apart from producing multiple copies of their models/replicas, can I ask what benefits they get from doing this?

:confused

For instance, is it to convert the material type to something that easier to work with or produces smoother & better results? Or is it the case it's just generally done in case something goes wrong and you don;t have to start from scratch again?

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to even read this post.

Re: Question: Why do people re-cast 3D prints?

I would say it's generally to have something made with a miniscule amount of error that can be worked to make an nearly perfect piece. Then that "master" would be molded and cast to make copies. 3D printing something is very pricey, so you only get one, master it and mold it, the casts are then done in something which is a lot cheaper therefore there will be more profit. At least that's how I would do it.

Oh man, you definitely did not choose the right term :lol