Problems Roto-casting by hand

rgk123

Hello, I am new to mold making and casting, and working on my first project. But I am running into some issues I am not sure how to resolve.

I have a 2-part mold and using roto-casting to create a hollow cast (the object is too big to cast solid). I am manually spinning the mold myself.

I am using resin that is suitable for roto-casting, but so far my attempts have failed. I get a paper-thin shell and a large solid mass in the middle. Since I can't see the inside, I am not sure if I spinning too fast, or spinning too slow, or not spinning for long enough.

Any insights appreciated, thanks!

It sounds like you are not spinning for long enough and too fast. Consistent spinning at a reasonable speed (one rotation on each axis every 1.5-2 seconds) will be crucial over a time that is roughly double the allotted cure time should be about right. If you are spinning it too fast the resin does not have time to grab onto the outside. The movement will also sometimes affect the cure time. Sometimes faster and sometimes slower depending on the brand.

Lastly, I like to do two pours. One half for a print coat and one for a build layer. That way it is even and not lumpy in spots that have deep indents like a nose. I assume you have an area you can pour into without reopening the mould? If needed you can drill a hole through the cured resin to access the inside of the print coat if needed. Good Luck!

Hello, I am new to mold making and casting, and working on my first project. But I am running into some issues I am not sure how to resolve.

I have a 2-part mold and using roto-casting to create a hollow cast (the object is too big to cast solid). I am manually spinning the mold myself.