OK, school me on ethics

Slash-5

Sr Member
I am a photographer and my work is stolen all the time. People steal my shoot ideas all the time. Drives me nuts, so I'm very in tune with the legalities of copyright, etc. in a general sense, but I am very new to the prop stuff...and what I see seems to be all over the board. So I thought maybe I'd post a few "what-if's" and see what you guys think:

1) What about props that are formally copyrighted by the original designer and a re used for a movie...then that set is re-used, perhaps without the permission of the original artist? Example: FLW Ennis house tiles used with permission for Bladerunner, but then re-used by all kinds of lower budget productions just because the set pieces were laying around? Were they wrong to use them?

2) Let's say I sculpt a Firefly blaster based on an Airsoft gun just for fun, but five people ask to buy casts of it, do I have the right to sell it to them? (In photography, it would be considered a "derivative work" if a certain percentage is original. The percentage changes by country.)

3) What if something is waaaay out of production (like the Sebastian "British Birds" chess set), and I find examples of the 6 types of original pieces. Is it wrong to recast additional pieces for myself to have a complete set?

4) If I buy a real movie prop (screen used) can I re-cast it for myself? Could I sell a casting?

I know all of this stuff is murky at times, but I just want to do the right thing. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Recasting for yourself is fine I believe as long as you aren't selling for profit. I'm not sure about taking an existing prop altering it a little then recasting that for profit. I've built items from scratch and I don't see a thing wrong with recasting your own work and selling it.