Obi-Wan ANH Saber--in progress

Discussion in 'Star Wars Costumes and Props' started by superjedi, Jul 1, 2006.

1. superjedi

superjedi Sr Member

Hi all,
    I've been a long time blaster builder, but have never tried my hand at sabers. Last fall I had to sell my MR Obi weathered, and I've wanted to replace it ever since. So I figured I'd make my own. :)
    I'm still in the "part-gathering" phase of this project, but I recently got a Mk III from Roman, and have just finished the weathering process.

Am I on the right track with this? It was fun.
    Eric

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Snoballz

Snoballz Well-Known Member

Looks pretty good so far. Is that Brass Black on the stem?

3. Duck9000

Duck9000 Well-Known Member

Nice job on that granade. Its looks really weathered :)

4. superjedi

superjedi Sr Member

Thanks.
    Snoballz, it isn't Brass Black, but I guess it's a similar chemical. It's called "Blacken-It." I got it at my local hobby shop, where they sell a lot of model railroading stuff.

5. OdiWan72

OdiWan72 Master Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Looking good Eric, but the red on the grooves of the grenade looks a bit too bright IMO.

Might just be the bacause of the flash/ the way the pic was taken...

Can´t wait to see your saber finished :D

Markus

6. JunkSabers1138

JunkSabers1138 Sr Member

I like the weathering job you did. It looks very much like MR's grenade finish.

To me anyway.

7. superjedi

superjedi Sr Member

Thanks.
    And Markus, the pictures show the rust more "orangey" than it really is.

8. JunkSabers1138

JunkSabers1138 Sr Member

I'll tell ya man. I've yet to see and Obi weathered that sells for under $500 on ebay. I guess it's just cheaper to buy accurate Romans parts rather than... oh 75%-80% accurate MR version and waste money.

9. superjedi

superjedi Sr Member

<div class='quotetop'>(JunkSabers1138 @ Jul 7 2006, 01:38 PM) [snapback]1276189[/snapback]</div>