Noob here - What do you guys use to fill the gaps

crlock

Hi there, i've been lurking around for some time now, trying to learn techniques and everything i can so i don't mess up with my models.
But i fail :( mainly because i'm too impatient.

I set up to build a Moebius BSG - Galactica and notice all the gaps on the joints, but i don't know what to use to fill those gaps.
what would you recommend?

Anyways, leasson learned :$

AVES Apoxy Sculpt works great for larger gaps. It's a 2-part expoxy that molds like clay. It's water based and gives you about 30 minutes of work time before it becomes too hard to work with. It gives off no fumes. You can also mold and shape it for instances where you need to restore a parts original contour or shape.

For smaller surface imperfections there's Tamiya Basic Type polyester putty which is a paste in a tube. It's much like Bondo red spot putty. Cleans up with lacquer thinner and it does give off fumes.

Another surface filler I recently started using is Perfect Plastic Putty. You can order it online if you do a search. It's a very fine white paste with no fumes and it's water based for easy cleanup. It doesn't shrink and dries in about 30 minutes or less. Really good stuff.

I think the main key is to have a set of good clamps. if you glue and clamp properly you ccan usually hit the resulting seam with primer sand lighly primer again and the seam will disappear. If you have a lot of gaps then proper gluing and clamping is likely the problem... Unless its just a crappy model, or its resin and hits warped in excessive heat or something. Most comercial kits these days fit well enough that major gaps and seams are not an issue. There aer exceptions but ususally you can glue and clamp your way out of (minor) fit issues.