My PKD has finally arrived!

Discussion in 'Replica Props' started by userd1402, Jul 13, 2015.

1. userd1402

userd1402 Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Just had my 'holy-grail' prop arrive. Deckard's PKD blaster from Blade Runner. This was sold to me as a post-WorldCon Sidkit and I have no reason to think any different looking at the kit as it has arrived. In order to get it into the UK from Italy the sender broke it down into two separate packages and it got though customs no problem. All I have to do now is finish the pieces and assemble it. This may take some time as most of my modelling experience has been with Airfix and Revel kits...
    I'm no expert in pewter casting but I must say I'm really impressed by the crispness of these parts. Everything super sharp and precise (this thing weighs a tonne!). Looks like it should go together really well. All I'm waiting for now is the custom steel (Tomenosuke replacement) barrel I snagged off a guy on Etsy and I can start planning the buildup.

Last edited: Aug 29, 2016
    RagleGumm, Nexus6 and Andy3E like this.
  2. 19narvik40

19narvik40 Well-Known Member

Looking really sharp. Just be careful with the white metal/pig metal/pewter, it doesn't take stressing very well and it cannot be welded or soldered. The metal will melt at those temperatures, I know from painful and costly experience. If something isn't fitting quite right I would suggest careful sanding and a lot of finesse. Please show us your progress.

3. KramStaar

KramStaar Sr Member

Agreed with 19narvik40's comment, go slow and don't overwork or overstress the metal. The Sidkit is possibly the cleanest cast you will find in the older models and although there is some controversy surrounding Sid's excellent blaster (some of it legitimate) his Worldcon was mostly retooled to make it less controversial - and its a beauty.

I suggest you try and acquire a replacement (metal) barrel so that all the blaster pieces are metal.