My first Dead Space WIP

Zaaz

This is my first time ever working with craft foam and foam mats. I think I've made 7 helmet bases now and this was the only one I liked. I tried mounting the foam to things like helmets, trying to make a rounded dome, etc. Eventually I just settled with what I have and after adding details I started to like it more and more. So I stuck with it and here I am. Unfortunately, once I got to this point I realized I made a big booboo with the face plate; it's not 100% accurate, it sticks out quite a bit from the base helmet - it's HUGE lol. This the second face plate I've made too. Don't laugh because I've done enough of that.

I'm just going to stick to my guns and finish it. (and the entire suit oy!) :cool

Attachments

• Snapshot_20131225.JPG
    Snapshot_20131225.JPG
    106.7 KB · Views: 254
  • Snapshot_20131225_1.JPG
    Snapshot_20131225_1.JPG
    111.2 KB · Views: 215
  • Snapshot_20131225_2.JPG
    Snapshot_20131225_2.JPG
    96.7 KB · Views: 186
  • Snapshot_20131225_3.JPG
    Snapshot_20131225_3.JPG
    132.1 KB · Views: 205
I ordered my LEDs a few days ago. I'm going to start drawing my plans for the rig today and see how much frustration I can handle. I'm trying to think of a good way to make the under suit as well.

Your results are very good looking, keep at it man i'll be following this post as i like to see builds :)
I forgot to thank you. I appreciate it.

Im making a Dead Space costume. im using E.L. wire to light the rig.
good luck. the helmet looks great :)
Why thank you, sir! I've been looking at EL wire for some time. I was thinking of using EL tape instead just because it was flat. I decided on LEDs mainly because they're cheaper and easier because I have no electronics experience. If the ones I get aren't bright enough I think I may just try EL tape and mess around with it. Also, I like your rig. :)

looks great so far, well done. I'll be watching your progress