Modding Skydiving helmet to make Mech helmet

Ruffaloem

Hey how's it going,

For almost ten years I have been trying and failing to make a semi original prop helmet using a variety of methods the latest being 3d printing.

I have criteria for what I want the piece to have:

1. overall comfort
2. ventilation
3. as much viability as possible

4. Modular in some way?

I'm not experience in prop making but I am a fairly good 3d designer.

Anyway, what I was thinking about buying a skydiving helmet and modifying it with 3d printed parts.
has anyone done this heard of any other projects that tried this?

I'm not familiar with skydiving helmets, but unless they are made of fiberglass, you might have a hard time glueing anything to them, plus with their expense it may be cost prohibitive for you.
Why not just print a helmet out? You can glue foam to the insides where you need and install a couple of battery operated fans to keep the visor clear and your head cooler. The visor may be the hardest part if it has a special shape, but if it is just curved you can go to a hardware store and pick up some replacement visors for a head mounted faceshield. I have several tinted ones for such projects.

TazMan2000

I'm not familiar with skydiving helmets, but unless they are made of fiberglass, you might have a hard time glueing anything to them, plus with their expense it may be cost prohibitive for you.
Why not just print a helmet out? You can glue foam to the insides where you need and install a couple of battery operated fans to keep the visor clear and your head cooler. The visor may be the hardest part if it has a special shape, but if it is just curved you can go to a hardware store and pick up some replacement visors for a head mounted faceshield. I have several tinted ones for such projects.

TazMan2000

vdOXNSY.jpg