looking into the future...painting latex

Don't want to see this ad? Sign up for anRPF Premium Membershiptoday. Support the community. Stop the ads.

Predator of Jax

No. I'm not writing about a 'new' way to paint latex... ha...

I'm about to get raw feet (someway, somehow) and paint these bad boys.

I have the Airbrush... Createx paints... etc. What paints are used though? I'm sure a sealant (like permawet?) would be a necessity. That's what I'm asking.

Looking through a sh!t ton of posts... I can't find a step by step on painting raw castings.

Anyone have a summarized version?

Don't want to see this ad? Sign up for anRPF Premium Membershiptoday. Support the community. Stop the ads.

MasterAnubis

Well, this has come up a few times before. I'm not an expert but the way I do it seems to be consistent with a few other people. This isn't the only way to do it, just the way I've done it...

The base coat I put on is a 50/50 mix of ProsAide and rubbing alcohol(well mixed). I've had good luck adding a touch of color to it with airbrush paint so that I can see where it's going. I use a single action air brush with the heavy tip set to get the coverage.

Then I've used just the normal airbrush paint. I've used the Createx Acrylics thinned with alcohol but I'm not too happy with it, maybe there is something better to thin it with. I also haven't run it through my Iwata.

Then after, or during the colors going on I've dabbed some color on using the Createx acrylics and a natural sponge.

The last coat I do is a Permawet mixed 50/50 with alcohol again using a single action airbrush. Then it's done.

Some people don't mix with alcohol, they prefer either water or nothing. I use alcohol because it seems to help with the drying time.
So, keeping in mind this is just one way, I hope this helps.

I'll be doing more painting this weekend so maybe a huntorial is in order.

georgieboy26