KittyPurry27's 2013 Halloween Costume Contest Entry

KittyPurry27

This will be my second year entering the RPF Halloween Contest. I’m still fairly new to costuming/cosplay and I learn more with each new project I do. I would be nowhere without the information and knowledge I garner from the experienced cosplayers on the RPF and of course the advice and assistance from my husband. I know, blah, blah, but I just want to express my appreciation. :)

Now… on to the costume! Ever since seeing the latest installment of Resident Evil – Retribution, I knew I wanted to be Project Alice.
ku-xlarge.jpg

The Buckles
After checking some threads on the RPF I learned from pinder91 that the buckles used for the costume were motorcross boot buckles from the Men’s Adult F3 Comp 5 Fox Racing boot and that the costume would require 94 of them (2 for the hands, 4 for the shoulders, 32 for the vest and 56 for the boots). Well that was all well and good, since Fox Racing sells replacement buckle sets and the sets come 8 buckles per package. However the first challenge I faced was the fact that the replacement sets were not cheap and almost impossible to find. Since I needed so many, I bought as many as I could (56) and decided I would try to fabricate the rest.
DSC_0451.JPG

The first step of the fabrication process was to cut off a large portion of the strap from the buckle. In order to keep them all uniform, my husband devised a set and punch system that enabled exact placement and removal of the strap for each buckle.

IMG_3107.jpg

Then we separated the remaining portion of the strap from the buckle so that each buckle was two separate pieces. Fabrication was next and was achieved through molding and casting of the separate pieces with Alumilite.
IMG_3089.jpg

Since neither my husband nor I had ever worked with anything like this we worked as a team to create the molds and then pour the casts.
IMG_3091.jpg IMG_3092.jpg IMG_3094.jpg IMG_3095.jpg