Jay Garrick Golden Age Flash Helmet (CW TV show Style)

Discussion in 'DC Costumes and Props' started by SamTheFlash, Aug 22, 2015.

1. SamTheFlash

SamTheFlash New Member

So I'm making a reproduction of Jay Garrick's helmet as seen in the Flash season 1 finale. Bear in mind Im pretty new to prop/costume building, the only costume I have made before is a New 52 inspired flash costume for Manchester Comic Con 2014: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10202600392106678&set=t.1103224700&type=3&theater

This is the actual helmet as displayed at comic-con:
    The-Flash-season-2-2-600x800.jpg

For the helmet I have used a replica WW2 Tommy Helmet, which I will sand and spray reflective silver. Heres a link to the helmet. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/231528551...49&var=530776011190&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

DSCF0501.jpg

The only difference with this helmet is the faux srew head on the very top. I may attempt sanding this down, or simply leave it as I don't think it makes much of a difference.

For the wings, I have had a designer produce me a 3D model of the wings, which are being 3D printed as we speak. Below are a couple of shots of the design, which is pretty spot on to the show's version. They are 9x19x0.8cm. One design identical on both sides will suffice for both wings.

WING IMAGES.jpg

To fix the wings (which will be spray painted reflective gold,) to the helmet, I was going to put a small screw through the helm into the base of the wing, combined with an industrial glue, however to save the amount of plastic, and therefore the overall cost of 3D printing the wings, the base has been hollowed leaving 2 holes, so I will have to think of another way to fix them together.

Now to wait until the wings are printed and delivered. Heres hoping they come out alright!

Attached Files:

Travelingeek, dontfeedmyego and Funky like this.
  2. Funky

Funky Master Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

I love this helmet! I'll be watching this thread closely to watch your progress!