Iron Man Mark 1 - 1st Foam build ever

Discussion in 'Marvel Costumes and Props' started by Jellyhugo, Mar 19, 2015.

1. Jellyhugo

Jellyhugo Active Member

Greetings my fellow members,

I decided to take a leap of faith and being working on my first foam build ever. I am still fairly new to the whole pepakura thing and a noob when it comes to foam. All of my cosplays that I done in the past were just creative thinking about what to use as well as walking up and down local hardware stores searching for ideas. We are heading to Anime North and DragonCon this year so I wanted to start working on something new. The reason behind the Mark 1 is because it is older and to my knowledge would most likely standout more at the con's due to the fact that everyone will be making the new iron man mark suits. My other cosplays that I made were Mysterio, Mr. Freeze, Scarecrow. Well enough chatter, lets do this! As always any feedback both constructive and positive is always welcome as I want to be really good at building cosplays. MARK1.jpg

Last edited: Mar 26, 2015
    DIY Rockstar and George like this.
  2. Jellyhugo

Jellyhugo Active Member

Re: Mark 1 - 1st Foam build ever

I want to give a big thanks to JFcustom for listing the pep files where I got Iron Man Mark 1 Cave suit.

3. Jellyhugo

Jellyhugo Active Member

I started out by making the helmet out of cardstock just to get an idea. I then transferred the pattern to foam. I had to build the helmet serveral times due to misscaling. Just a simple rookie mistake i know. Here is my progression.

0308151213.jpg

4. Jellyhugo

Jellyhugo Active Member

0308151353.jpg

0308151657.jpg - Too large and messed up the pieces

0320150330.jpg - alot better but didn't scale it properly

0320150330a.jpg - little better. Seems to fit right but i want to redo it. Want to attempt to remove the face part in order to put the motorized attachment just like in the movie to control opening and closing.

5. TKSteve

TKSteve Well-Known Member