Iron Man helmet, where to start?

Discussion in 'Marvel Costumes and Props' started by devnl, May 3, 2012.

1. devnl

devnl New Member

I have to start off by saying I'm genuinly impressed by what everyone in this board has managed to put together. So much even, that I'd love to take a crack at making something myself. However, I have no experience whatsoever with working with foam, resin and any other thing mentioned here. A rather common item you see people create seems to be an Iron Man helmet. I'd love to make one myself, but I'm rather lost on how to start doing that.

What would be a good starting point for someone like myself who has no experience whatsoever in this field? I've read quite some threads on this board in which I see people talking about foam, paper, resin and all sorts of other terms, but I'm having some trouble with actually putting all this information together to figure out what goes into doing such a project. Anyone out there that can point me in the right direction?

Last edited: May 28, 2012
  2. firebapx

firebapx Well-Known Member

Re: How to get started...

sorry to link to a different website but id recomend starting with a foam helmet there easy and dont take any where near as much time as the pep ones if you make a foam one your happy with then have a go at a plastic one check out this guy his youtube channel is amazing for foam armour and he has all the files youll need IRON MAN and WAR MACHINE FOAM Pepakura Templates

3. Dpeterson117

Dpeterson117 Active Member

TheHeroTutorials - YouTube

Check This Guys videos out. He Goes by Stealth on here. Don't know him personally but he has helped me a ton with these videos! He goes Step by step with Foam builds and some on pep a well! Hope this Helps you out!

4. devnl

devnl New Member

What are the possibilities regarding e.g. lighting up the eyes or motorizing the faceplate when using foam, if there are any? And is it possible to achieve a glossy/metal look when using foam?

5. firebapx