How to mould weird shaped masks

Shangti

Hi guys, after all he help with vacuum forming I have got stuck on another project and hoping to glean some advice. I am completely new to this and have done my homework but you know how it goes on your first attempts.

Basically I have some masks that I am making which are unusual shapes and was wondering how to make mother mould. the first is a doom face plate, I will get around to making the rest of the head soon but want to cast a good plater to work from for something else. As you can see weird shape...

I assume i me I need to close up the eyes and mouth, for the first half the mould (I have assumed, maybe wrongly, it would be a 2 part mould). And then maybe take these blanking pieces out for the 2nd half? I am stumped as to how to get around the weird facial shape though, especially depth of the mask as it's not flat or even vaguely square.

The second mask is phantom of the opera style, half mask. Again stumped as similar dilemma.

last bit almost everything I find is for the US, can anyone recommend any good cheap materials, suppliers here in the uk please?

cheers

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 136
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 114
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    969.3 KB · Views: 109
Okay - so lots of advice to give here so bare with.

Firstly - moulding and casting - what do you want your finished pieces cast in? if you want something that is rigid like a resin or GRP - you will be wanting a flexible mould. say silicone or latex. if you want a flexible cast in latex or silicone you would need plaster or GRP (fiberglass) respectively.

If I was moulding those items I wouldn't be thinking of doing a 2 part mould. For the Doom mask I would build up a clay wall all the way around, fill in the eyes and mouth - mould it. and just slush my material into the back to the mould to make a skin (look up roto-casting online or slush casting - both have videos on youtube)