HIC Build

Discussion in 'Star Wars Costumes and Props' started by Farlowmag, Aug 24, 2015.

1. Farlowmag

Farlowmag New Member

Hello everyone. This is my first attempt at building a prop, or anything this size. I am not very good at building anything outside of miniatures. The power tools I am using are owned by wife and were given to her by my father over the last 15 years as gifts. I am used to pick things up and put them down.

I will post some photos soon, but right now I have the box built, frame around it and the front board in. I have some questions for those that have done this before:
    1) The boards that Volvo panels attach to, are they screwed on or glued to cover the openings?
    2) I glued and screwed my front panel. Do I need to seal the seam around it? Will the Elmer’s glue I used for carbonite leak under the frame?
    3) Has anyone used the MONCAL end inserts? If so, how did you mount them.
    4) I have seen people use bondo and others use wood filler. Either work? or is one heavliy recommended over the other one?
    5) Is it recommended to fill the back of the Han Solo with expandable foam?

Thanks for the help.

Gerrit

2. wh1plash

wh1plash Member

I would highly recommend going Bondo across the board, in place of wood filler and glue. It dries nice and hard, and is easy to sand smooth.

3. Farlowmag

Farlowmag New Member

4. Halliwax

Halliwax Legendary Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

i always enjoy these! i so want to do this one day, cant wait to see your progress!

5. hdtheater

hdtheater Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

6. Farlowmag

Farlowmag New Member

Thanks for the link. My moncal buckets do not slide in from the outside. The holes are too small. I may expand them or see about mounting them from the inside. Something I need to stare at for a little bit. I got more done over the last few days. The sides are done and I added some supports inside. Does get heavy as you add items.
    IMG_2486.JPG
    IMG_2507.JPG