Hank "Beast" McCoy Costume Help

PhantomRonin

Hey all,

I am new to the RPF and new to the hobby of building props and costumes. This year for Halloween I want to attempt going as Beast, my favorite Xmen character. I have an idea in mind for the costume, but I need help with make-up, and hair (including the chest and arms). I want it to look to where people won't recognize me in the make-up. Any ideas on how to achieve this effect?

This is the kind of look I'm thinking of...
beast4.jpg

All the Chewbacca costumers I've met have told me that fur fabric is not usually a good idea. I think they make part of their costumes from netting, then use a latch hook to attach hair to the netting. I always thought that idea had potential for a Beast costume as well. He just doesn't have hair quite as long, and you might be able to get away with a leathery material for some parts.

Hey, I'm doing a Hank as well. Mine is more of a X Men First class beast, but I've done a lot of research on both. For the hair, There is a wolverine wig that should accept blue spray in hair dye. They have pretty much the same style, so it's at the very least a jumping off point.
For the face, I'm going with this guy. Halloween Masks? Better! Film Quality Foam Latex Appliances | Boaris
And going blue. Though if you want an old school less feline version of Beast, you can go with something more along the lines of this. Lycanthus | Foam Latex Appliances | Foam Latex Proshetics | Halloween Foam Latex Masks | Werewolf | Beast
As for fur, it's always going to be a bit of a problem, so I say only show a bit and let it insinuate that there's more. I'm deconstructing an underarmor compression shirt and attaching fur fabric to select sections to show a bit of chest and maybe a little forearm.
For feet, I just googled monster feet and found a good pair of rubber ones that I've painted and will attach hair to.