Greek Helmet-- Questions?

Don't want to see this ad? Sign up for anRPF Premium Membershiptoday. Support the community. Stop the ads.

ecuddy

Hello all,

I am an artist, but have only recently gotten really into crafting my own designs on anything other than paper. I am currently working on a variation of the typical Greek Hoplite helmet, and wonder what the best (preferably fairly simple, it's my first helmet) way is to go about making it look really rather bomb. The base design is a Corinthian style helmet, and I have it molded out of sculptamold. My original intention was to do it Sculptamold, then sand the exterior, but that may be a bit too labour intensive and messy at the moment. I am really interested in the idea of using friendly plastic, or something quite a bit lighter and smoother than Sculptamold, and would love some input as to how I should proceed from here. I am particularly partial to the shape I have created with the Sculpta, and would love to figure out how I could use that as a cast.

Ideas? Thank you!

(It looks a bit wonky in the picture, as the surface and edges really need sanding, but the inside is pretty darn near perfect)

IMG_7956.jpg

Last edited:

Don't want to see this ad? Sign up for anRPF Premium Membershiptoday. Support the community. Stop the ads.

ecuddy

Bummer, I was kind of hoping to get some input on this before Halloween got really close. Anyone? ...Cricket...Cricket...Bueller...Bueller...

laxman09

it seems like a pretty difficult situation, the best that i think i could advise you to do if you want to just work with what you have is to just keep shaping it, using either a sander to get it semi-close to what you want or using a grater tool and then fine-tune sanding to get it to exactly where you want it. i've never used sculptamold, how hard is the surface? sometimes you just gotta get dirty!

how strong is this stuff by the way?