Grave Digger (not the monster truck lol) Halloween costume *pic heavy*

Quixotic5891's 2013 Halloween Costume Contest Entry the Grave Digger *pic heavy*

Halloween is coming and after putting together my stormtrooper armor and building a few other small props I decided to take a shot at building some foam armor. I've read a lot on the forums about building foam armor but this is my first build so forgive me for novice mistakes.

I'm a big fan of the Spawn comics and the toy line so one day I cam across the Grave Digger and I instantly knew this was going to be my costume!

It seems simple enough and not a ton of armor but still pretty creepy. Only problem I have with it is I'm not nearly that skinny so I have to come up with a alternative for being shirtless and pantless. So I went down to my local harbor freight and picked up some foam interlocking mats and then the fun began.

I decided to start with the right wrist guard since it was small.

added alot of wear and tear to it since I wanted this to seem really old

Assembled it after a few minor adjustments

then started working on the hand plate and spikes

had to put together 3 pieces of foam to make the spikes which im not a huge fan of but its not too bad.

Im going to be using high powered magnets for most of my closures on the armor so here is the magnets of the hand plate and wrist guard

here it is mostly put together and I added plasti dip to coat it

Eventually I will add these real rusted bolts

Now I the left wrist guard

just a little sizing

Add the other plates and getting it just right was tough since im new at sizing stuff to fit me but It worked out in the end

damages and details

Here it is with the joining pieces add.

Now the wrist guard needed big spikes and I didn't have thick enough foam to make it so I tried crayola model magic. This stuff is kinda weak so I added a bunch of coats of resin to harden them up then with the plasti dip they seem pretty solid.