Graflex "A New Hope" Build

Discussion in 'Star Wars Costumes and Props' started by history Hunter, Aug 23, 2015.

1. history Hunter

history Hunter New Member

I'm not a prop collector, but the father of a 4-year-old who has re-ignited my interest in Star Wars. I've been hesitant to introduce him to the movies due to the violence (and of course, the question of what order to introduce him, looms large in my future). But we have been watching Star Wars Rebels, and he's absolutely in LOVE with the Star Wars world. Just about everything in my house that's sword-shaped (or has batteries) has become a light saber. After having recently purchased us a pair of kick-butt sabers from Ultra Sabers, I decided to build a hero prop. Honestly, I'm telling myself (and my wife) that this is for him, but who are we kidding? It's for me! Next to Heather Locklear, it was my childhood dream to have one of these. So here I am, aged 44, with disposable income, and nothing else to do on a Saturday night but ...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/321835703447?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

Thanks to a couple of members of this forum, I've started down the path of the dark side ... I will update you on my "build." Also, one of you suggested I hadn't purchased the right Graflex ... please confirm for me if this is the case. I'm on the hunt for another one if that's the case. Wish me luck people, and please pray that I don't get the "saber collecting bug" (okay in 3 weeks, I've already purchased 3). Ugh ...

Attached Files:

Luke the Belter, MCM and mugatu like this.
  2. Serenity

Serenity Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

It'll be fine for an ANH version since it has the correct knurling on the button and has a glass eye.

Good luck and have fun!

mugatu likes this.
  3. Panaflex

Panaflex Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Looks like a fine specimen. Enjoy the build, it is addictive so you may wind up building the entire OT collection before you're done.

mugatu likes this.