First time molding a helmet. Need advice.

CaptainChaos

I've been making armor, jewelry, and art from chainmail and sheet metal and now I'm also making pepakura stuff and a friend wants me to build him a horned battle battle and paint it with a certain football team's colors. I'm super stoked about it!!! But I want to make it a resin casting of my pepakura+resin+bondo helm and I've never tried to mold something before. I've seen TONS of tutorial videos and I feel pretty confidant with the overall process but NOT with what materials/products I should use. I've watched several "first attempt helmet mold" videos, too, to try to look for things to avoid.

I see lots of people using Smooth-on Dragon Skin or other Smooth-on products (for the silicone and the resin) and I've also seen some nice videos with Brick in the Yard Mold Supply's PlatSil-25. Both have great flexibility and last a long time but then I look at the price and just about crap my pants!

When I researched cheaper methods, I found lots of people using hardware store 100% Silicone I caulk (combined with corn starch, paint, and glycerin). Lots cheaper, sure, I'm scared about it tearing or falling apart after 1 casting and I'd like to at least cast another one for me and a different friend. I even read about shrinkage problems after a couple days but that was mostly when people used mineral spirits to thin it out, I think. Anyone here used this method before that can provide some extra details? I know using it for a helmet is going to be harder than just using it for open molding a tiny part. I saw a nice video of someone casting their Magneto helmet this way. Having to cut a big V in the silicone (supported by cheese cloth) makes me nervous though. That's why I loved the elasticity of platsil and dragon skin.

My helmet (Helm of Yngol replica) has horns so a bit nervous about having to cut them off and mold them separate but I can't think of a better alternative.