First attempt Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Fury's Toolbox

Discussion in 'Marvel Costumes and Props' started by Jwave, Apr 26, 2015.

1. Jwave

Jwave New Member

I know this is an incredibly simple thing to make for any/most/all people here, but this is my first attempt at building my own prop from scratch and any and all input is greatly welcomed!

For starters, I'm trying to make Director Fury's Toolbox from Agents of Shield. I realize its rudimentary, but I've never worked with LEDs before. What would be the best stand alone light source I could put into this thing for maximum brightness? My electronics experience is also as lacking as my crafting so I may need it broken down barney style with the best way to get a portable light in here. I've been suggested to hot glue an LED to a round battery but I'm not even sure which type of LED, where to get it, properly installing without somehow setting everything on fire, etc the basics. Measurements are 2.25" cube. Thanks again!

Toolbox_Hologram.png 11188466_10100352248548061_5557581758520540021_n.jpg

ThatRobClarke likes this.
  2. renaissance_man

renaissance_man Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

I've made one of these myself (thread in the Junkyard with pictures) and as a little heads up before you go any further the 2.25" is a bit large. I'd say you would be looking at more around the 40mm mark.

I wouldn't hot glue a battery to an LED, go for something a little less permanent as when the battery runs out it could leak and ruin your hard work.
    How about one of the small LED pocket keyring/keychain lights? They are pretty cheap on e-bay or in £/$ shops.

Good luck with your build.

3. DRG

DRG Active Member

If you want it bright and have limited electrical skill (meaning for don't want to mess with resistors and all that), I'd suggest using one of those SMD LED Discs for auto use. I used these for my Iron Man hand repulsors.
    mWMpL4GfZeSZIHN2PZyO8pA.jpg