Finally found a Die Hard Radio need framing advice

Seville

Hello everyone,

I finished a movie room and wanted some replica props to go in it. I wanted a Planet Hollywood theme. I am a ham radio operator and went on one of the Ham Radio Forums and found a great condition Kenwood TH-21BT. This was the radio that Hans used during the movie. Bruce Willis used a different one (in reality they wouldn't be able to communicate because they were on different bands) I cleaned it up with mild soap and then put some Vaseline on it and wiped it off and it looked shiny and new. I took the rubber ducky antenna apart and painted the orange bands (144 mhz) to green ones like the one on the movie (440 mhz). They just put a smaller antenna on it to make it look cooler but it wouldn't function with that antenna. I mounted it up in a shadow box, but I do not know which picture to put in it. Should I go with the one with the photo of the actual screen shot radio (although that antenna is a little shorter) or the one with three photos of Hans talking? Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• 2015-09-12 14.01.53.jpg
    2015-09-12 14.01.53.jpg
    398.3 KB · Views: 117
  • 20150912_135933.jpg
    20150912_135933.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 118
  • 2015-09-12 08.36.41.jpg
    2015-09-12 08.36.41.jpg
    359 KB · Views: 118
Personally I think the text is a bit misleading, "Walkie-Talkie Used During Filming" implies it's the original prop.

Its for my movie room, so my friends and I will be the only ones seeing it, technically it is the same make and model used during the movie, I agree there may be a bit of trickery involved. My question was what photo scene do you think looks the best?

Thanks

This thread is more than 8 years old.

Your message may be considered spam for the following reasons:

1. This thread hasn't been active in some time. A new post in this thread might not contribute constructively to this discussion after so long.