Falli's question thread. Aussie costumers, help please!

fallimar

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Hey all, I thought instead of asking random questions on other people's threads, I might collect them all here. I'm Australian, and so ordering a lot of overseas products is pretty hard with our weird import restrictions on some liquids and chemicals, and I'm trying to avoid buying heavy materials overseas to cut down shipping costs.
Right - so basically I'm looking for some products and some help. If you're Aussie or know any of the products that are available in Australia that work, I'd love to hear from you!
I'm a beginner at using this stuff, so I'd like to get the right products to start with.

1: I'm looking for resin to harden EVA foam pieces. I'm looking for something that'll brush on in layers, sand up nicely and help give me a good, shiny finish. I'd prefer if it wasn't too flexible and didn't crack or deform under normal wearing conditions.

2: Resin for brushing/slush-casting the interior of pep models to form a nice solid shell.

3: Expanding foam. I'd like to be able to fill pep models, or parts of, to help keep their shape. If I'm slush-casting resin it's not an issue, but I'd like to know what kind of specs I'd be looking for in an expanding foam product. I don't want to explode my nice, clean pep models :p

4: Silicone for mould-making. I'll be sculpting Krogan parts in oil clay for an upcoming Mass Effect costume and I'll need to learn to make moulds. My reasearch has pointed me to silicone with a mother mould of hydrocal/ultracal. I'd love a recommendation for the silicone to be used - I'd most likely be casting in liquid latex or poly foam, though ideally I'd love to use hot foam latex if I can find a way to make it work safely.