Eye of Agamotto Build

FoamSmith

Be kind. It is my first build thread.

I've started this thread to detail my build of the Eye of Agamotto from the forthcoming Marvel Doctor Strange movie. It will be not be done in real time as the prop is completed and delivered. It's primary purpose is to document how I did mine and the mistakes I made so that someone can do a better one.

I was commissioned by a friend on April 28th to build an Eye and it was needed by A-Kon 27 which was today June 4th. He provided source material and specific requirements. Great! For those aspiring prop makes who want to do this for a living, here is where the first mistake was made. Price was not set. Why did I make this mistake? Well, it really wasn't a mistake for me as I have done work for him before and he was always paid well for my services. It worked out perfectly fine but this is the second mistake many prop makes make. (The first being not charging to begin with. )

We discussed possible options such as an LED effect and I set the clear understanding that I would focus on the base model instead of a luxury one if it came down to delivering or not delivering. We also agreed upon weekly updates. Communication is the key to any customer delivery experience.

Next: On to the Research!

Research

The provided source material were a couple of low resolution shots from filming and the Entertainment Weekly shots we've all seen. That will just will not do. To borrow a phrade from Mister Holmes, "Data Data Date. One cannot make bricks without clay."

So off to wield my Google-fu I went. I found a rather helpful Tumbler account that had collected quite a few shots from the filming with many being very high quality. http://http://falson2.tumblr.com/ Searched for tags #Doctor Strange. My research led me to conclude that there are three different versions of this darn thing.