Episode 7 F-11D Blaster Rifle (COMPLETE)

Discussion in 'Star Wars Costumes and Props' started by JJ Griffin, Apr 17, 2015.

1. JJ Griffin

JJ Griffin Sr Member

***UPDATE***

Construction is complete. Here's a video overview:

So I've been in love with the new blasters since the teaser trailer last year... I'm a total newbie when it comes to Star Wars costuming but I figured I'd go ahead and get the gun modeled, 3D printed, and most likely mold and cast it as a kit, since I intend to cosplay Trooper Finn in the future anyway...

View attachment DSC00577.jpg

It certainly seems like a natural evolution of the E-11. At first I thought it used the same base (the revered Sterling) but the base parts seem to be different enough that I feel it's best to just model based off the ones we have seen in the trailers/Celebration displays.

I'm a sucker for "functioning" props so I'd like to include some moving parts. Currently we are thinking unfolding stock, removable magazine, rotating scope knob, working flashlight, and of course the red side-light. I know the E-11/Sterling has a folding stock but the one here seems to work less like the "triangle butt" of the older models and more like a SPAS-12 (although obviously it's slung under the new blaster as opposed to mounted on top).

images (5).jpg

I've been told some SMGs allow the "butt" of the folding stock to be folded down and used as a foregrip while the stock is still slung under the weapon so we may include that feature as well.

We will most likely be doing this variant as well (which we've lovingly dubbed the "SOCOM" given its similarities to the M4). Just a bit worried about what it might look like on the other side, although in the meantime we'll probably just make it look the same as the white/black blasters.
    6V3rzJe.png