Electronics for 10th Sonic Screwdriver

Discussion in 'Replica Props' started by AgentTripleZero, Mar 1, 2012.

1. AgentTripleZero

AgentTripleZero New Member

Hello,

I am a long-time lurker to this forum, and am also in the midst of personally assembling a Sonic Screwdriver like the one used by the 10th Doctor. As I have seen that this topic is sometimes a tense one on this site, I should state for the record that I don't have much of any interest in constructing an EXACT replica that is "100% accurate" or otherwise. Truth be told, this screwdriver is meant to be a gift to someone very dear to me... but I digress.

My reason for posting is this - I am looking for helpful tips on doing the wiring for a Sonic Screwdriver from scratch. I understand that it is very easy to simply cannibalize one of the toys to get the necessary parts, but as a Mechanical Engineer I am also very interested in increasing my knowledge of electronics - the project will be both a test of my existing CAD/CNC skills, and a chance to acquire new ones in electronics, I hope.

In the interest of the pursuit of knowledge, I ask if anyone has an electronic diagram/schematic of the LED light and buzzer, and any helpful suggestions on where I could find a buzzer that makes the Sonic's distinct sound? Electronics were never my strong suit, and I'm a bit weary of getting electrocuted due to a careless error (one of my fears... long story involving cattle fences and an idiot brother :rolleyes hahaha). As an aside, I am also curious about why photos from "Behind the Scenes" show the Sonic in a case containing AAA batteries, yet most of the builds and toys choose instead to use 3 LR-44s? Is it simply because of the voltage difference or is there more to this? I ask because it seems more economic to use a AAA.

Again, any and all constructive help is much appreciated - I've seen no posts here or elsewhere on the subject and was hoping for some friendly assistance. Thank you!

2. Risu