Details of a real Jedi Robe?

Slash-5

Sr Member
Hi guys. I am an American fashion photographer working in North Africa/Europe and living in Tunisia.
For fun, I visited Tataouine (yes, that is how you spell the city in Tunisia), and bought my son one of the brown wool-like robes they wear in the area...which got me thinking...

Why not have them make me a Jedi robe?

They already make hundreds a month around there (it IS the traditional robe here ...and arguably where the idea for SW Jedi robes comes from), and they already have the brown fabric production, etc. I thought it would be cool to actually have one made from here...and the original ones aren't super expensive, so I can't believe a SW's one would be much more.

So...I want it to be super authentic. In ANH, it looks like Obi's robe has simple un-finished edges... Does anyone here actually have access to to original costume? I just need to know stitching details, etc. I don't need patterns, they make these things here already. I really just need close-ups of the actual details...any help would be appreciated very much.

I've read every thread on Jedi robes, but I don't see the edge/stitching detail I need to really make it accurate.

BTW, on a related note, the Arabic word for "grandfather" is Jud'di which they say is where Jedi comes from. No idea if that's true or not.

Here is a link to the photos I took that day if you'd like to see them. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.598579990172859.1073741832.249491771748351&type=3

The original robe worn by Alec Guiness in the first movie was probably rented. A robe touted as having been worn by "Old Ben" was found some years ago. It had been used in several productions and it even had eye-holes cut out from the hood in KKK-like fashion ...
I do find it very likely that extras in the movie wore some local garments though.