Denix DL-44 Upgrades to Purchased Builds

Starchaser

I am new to customizing although a frequent prowler of everyone’s awesome work here on the RPF. Taking my first step into a larger world by taking some already awesome DL-44 builds purchased from some real talented builders and trying to make them that little bit more movie accurate and to get some experience modifying these Denix models before starting one from scratch. I have no machine shop so I will be using hand tools, electric drill and my favorite tool of all.......the Dremel.

Firstly before I get into the mods I want to give a shout out to all the skilled investigators and builders on this forum, for identifying and sharing latest findings of how the props really looked, sharing latest thoughts and ideas (on some on the blurriest pictures/screen grabs ever) and for detailing to newbies like me how to achieve some of the fantastic looks you get on your builds. I particularly want to give a shout out to Chubs and Doggers directly, since it was after buying my first DL-44 blaster from him and reading his awesome thread on how to achieve some awesome detail, I finally got the confidence to try my hand at this hobby. Also my thanks go to Feildmarshall for offering some great items already machined for new starters like me.

So I will start by saying after seeing Chubs Luke Bespin Blaster he built for me with all the cool modifications to the original Denix base, I was determined to have any future DL44’s in my collection have the same great features. My first attempt to upgrade came today, when I took a prized ANH blaster I purchased from Todd’s Costumes and dismantled it for upgrades. Being new and slightly scared I didn’t break the whole thing down as far trigger mechanism etc and left all that in place while I did the work.

So after dissassembly, here is what I did: