Darth Vader Costume by Tammi Mars

Discussion in 'Star Wars Costumes and Props' started by tammimars, May 12, 2015.

1. tammimars

tammimars Jr Member

Hi.

I am making my own Darth Vader ANH costume for a budget of under €500. I have a lot of propmaking experience and have been using silicone molds and resin for a long time. Today I started making the pants. Knowing that only the front of the thighs will be visible I took and old pair of bluejeans and opened up the seams. Added fake leather to the front of the thighs and made all the seams along the legs. I could not quite get the bubbly apperance of the original but close. One leg took allmost 2 hours so its slow work.
    I also made the chest box out of wood, will ad pictures with description and prices for those who are interrested.
    The Helmet, shoulder armour and leg armour along with the gloves are the things I have to buy, the rest will be homemade.

2. tammimars

tammimars Jr Member

uploadfromtaptalk1431452049705.jpg pants uploadfromtaptalk1431452077020.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1431452097372.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1431452130186.jpg

Are the edges of the chestbox beveled enough? (am I using that right) Should it be shiny or dull?

3. Sym-Cha

Sym-Cha Master Member

Hi tammimars,

Curious. Which version of Darth Vader are you intending to replicate? ANH, ESB or ROTJ? Or perhaps ROTS?

As for that chestbox here's a picture, where you can clearly see, there's more a round taper to those edges :

[​IMG]

Though I applaud your cunning trick of just making the front of the pants in leather . . . if you decide to troop in it . . . kids will find out your an imposter ha, ha, ha. But if only for a DV statue you're good to go. The 'quilting' in the leather, which is now lacking from yours, is created with added soft material in between the seams :)

Chaim

4. tammimars

tammimars Jr Member