Captain Marvel Carol Danvers Leather Jacket Costume NEWBIE QUESTIONS

TheAmazingJared

Hey everybody, long time lurker first time poster, I have a big project I want to start but I've never done something like this before, so I'm pretty excited. I need advice and suggestions from anyone that's willing. I hope someone is interested enough to read and contribute, but I'm sure this is right up y'alls alley.

Let's get to it. I was inspired by this image on Deviant Art by an artist called Rahzzah.
captain_marvel_by_rahzzah-d644y36.jpg

Not the tradition tight fitting spandex costume you normally see her sporting. But the main question I wanted to ask and the subject I find most perplexing is the jacket. I want to do a gender bent Carol Danvers Captain Marvel with a civilian vigilante vibe using this as a springboard. Where do you recommend I start with the jacket? All leather jackets if they are good are pricey but given time that is no issue. What's recommended, do I buy a jacket as a base, paint it, sew colored leather bits onto it, have someone else make the jacket, order one that exists already? I've never made clothes for a cosplay and I've barely cosplayed before. I am not afraid to learn how to make a leather jacket but I am worried it would be too costly over the amount of time it'd take. That being said let me break down my idea a bit more.

I want to do a version of the most modern costume in the above style. This is her now.
3047641-inline-s-3-first-look-at-the-new-captain-marvel-written-by-agent-carter-showrunner.jpg

I figure dark blue (maybe tight) jeans, I have red converse, red leather driving gloves, custom belt/sash with utility pouches, an undershirt like above but with the classic lightning bolt on it, and then the helmet. Which is arguably the next hardest thing to figure out. In my mind at least.
b47e5942a771bb26f491025f7ece3c34.jpgzWcJB4t.jpg