Can anyone help me with the value on this autograph

Darthgarth

I have been offered an Alec guiness autograph, it’s a bit faded, does have some fairly good provenance so I’m not too concerned about it being a fake, he wants a grand (UK) for it, I wondered what you good people thought
9EB66D46-8042-4D36-A134-1F49EA228B22.png

Please keep in mind: I am not a professional autograph authenticator. However I have had a couple of autographs run through my store and I’ve learned quite a bit from the pros over the years, so take this with a grain of salt.
Yes, the message is a bit faded but his signature is in fine shape. It does appear to be authentic. However, one thing screams at me that no one ever thinks about. What it’s signed on makes a huge difference in my humble opinion. It appears he’s signed in on an old slipcover of a VHS tape of the movie. It simply does not present well. The good news is if you have it professionally mounted in a shadow box it will help a ton with the presentation and will certainly up its value.
Best of luck with this. His signature is certainly of the more valuable ones.

thanks funky, i have plans to mount it, i made an offer that was rejected, he's going to get it authenticated (he says) and come back to me so we will see what happens

I don't think it's worth that. Maybe 6-700 with authentication if it was pristine. It has slightly faded and that will definitely affect it's value. As Funky mentioned, a good presentation case will definitely help with value but I'm doubtful it will hit 1K. I sold a slabbed signed star wars card last year. Took a while to move and ended up selling for 500 or so if I recall. Less than I expected.

Last edited:
I believe I read somewhere of Guiness’s overall refusal to sign “Star Wars” items. If that is true, this may push this into a more rarely found category of memorabilia for the actor, I suppose.

Last edited: