BSG Shuttle GAL 356: Do we really need another?

Troy Downen

Absolutely!

…so here goes MY build of a studio scale Battlestar Galactica Shuttle GAL 356.

Caveat: I am a SLOOOOOW builder. I like to sit and stare at my models while I build them, thinking through next steps and alternate approaches. So it seems like progress comes slowly. I also have very little free time (but hey, would any of us say that we just have too much free time for models? Nah…). The upshot is that updates may be sparse, but if you stick with me then I’ll stick with you all the way through this build. ;-)

It started as any other day… it was rainy in the big city and the sea was angry, it had been a dark and stormy night…

Nah, not really. It was a beautiful sunny day here on the East Coast of the USA and the mailman set down a LARGE box on my doorstep (with his usual “WTF” look as he walked away). Inside was that resin-y goodness that we all know and love. This is the kit currently available from JAWS Models.

01%20Parts_zpsodwgif0i.jpg

Somehow all of this needs to find a home on the exterior of the shuttle. First order of business was to sort thorugh the parts and categorize them based on their location on the exterior (top, bottom, front, aft, side & landing gear). I relied heavily on the reference photos posted right here on Studio Scale Modeler. It really turned out to be a fun job of discovery and “ah ha” moments. A bit like piecing together a puzzle (BEST puzzle).

02%20Parts%20Sorted_zpsmivcxh3o.jpg