Blade Runner water gun project

Kwc271

Hello everyone,
I just acquired a blade runner water gun off of eBay and was wondering if you kind folks could answer a few dumb questions . First off, I plan on painting it to look like the one used in the movies. I remember reading some older threads on here and folks talking about how hard it could be to remove the grips as they were glued on. The one I purchased, the grips popped right off, and underneath,there is a solid grip. Is this the norm? Second, can anybody tell me what paint and color to use to darken and tint the grips so they have a more amber color? Third, does anyone have any recommendations on how to add some weight to the pistol without dissection? Thanks for any help you can give, this is my first attempt at a project like this. I gave $60 for this piece,which I thought wasn’t too bad considering about all of them sell for $90 on up, especially the ones with the orange grips. Here are some pics.

Attachments

• A1137403-73E7-47A5-9113-9881ECD06392.jpeg
    A1137403-73E7-47A5-9113-9881ECD06392.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 165
  • 070C0D15-ABD0-4599-B0D3-6F9EED259874.jpeg
    070C0D15-ABD0-4599-B0D3-6F9EED259874.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 165
  • CB9B7DF0-0793-4C7A-AE90-43A25EDA4C68.jpeg
    CB9B7DF0-0793-4C7A-AE90-43A25EDA4C68.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 154
  • 455A8A9C-655B-42E6-9570-AC1F14D6D99E.jpeg
    455A8A9C-655B-42E6-9570-AC1F14D6D99E.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 163
I actually believe the colour of the grips to be quite close to what the real thing has. Most replica grips I've seen have been too reddish IMHO.
But the real grips are solid, and the gun frame inside is black - both things that reduce the effective brightness of them.

Thanks for the reply. What I’ll probably do then, is paint the grip black and then reinstall the grip panels on top. That will reduce some of the brightness.