Blade Runner Collection_PATROLMAN Blaster BOX

BradWright

Hey all, yes, yet another thread of Blade Runner stuff.

I'm very new to prop making or model making of any kind really, but I have been working as a Concept Designer in films and games for 15years, so felt like a natural digression.

First off Ill get the one out of the way that may get me lynched here. My "What if" blaster. What if Deckard never recovered the dropped gun during his fight with Roy, and it sat in the damp for the next decade. Its a Plastic/metalframe sidkit that wasnt the best fit to begin with. So thought why not rust it to hell. I achieved the rust using layers of Modern Masters Metal effects paints. Clear coated so its pretty ok to handle and not get to filthy.

View attachment rustedbladerunnerblaster.jpg

this is how it looked prepainted
20170210_204232-01[1].jpg

Then using AK true metal(wax based paint you can polish) to get the base metallics. I did latex mask and paint black the cover parts that needed it but forgot to photo that stage.
bladterbasecoat.jpg

I have a full metal Sidkit blaster as well that I attempted to get as screen accurate as possible. Still some parts to redo and finish(repaint the butt plate wear, grime up the white wires) I used a thinner solution of the previous rustable paint to splatter across it. Interestingly the oxidising solution used to rust the paint, correded the blackening I had previously done to the metal. Nice subtle pitted feeling.
View attachment updatedbladerunnerblaster.jpg

Re: BradWright_Blade Runner Collection

To display the metal sidkit I was inspired by the incredible box Adam Savage made. My poor attempt was to represent an official gun/badge presentation box. You can also see an additional Police issue blaster in there. Just a stunt version painted up.

View attachment vOWd1aT.jpg

some additional cleaning and preparing for those curious

IMG_20170310_223253_731[1].jpg20170317_214501-01[1].jpg
IMG_20170307_194620[1].jpg