Bending fibre optic cable and other questions

asplogin

Hey,

I'm building the Bandai Millennium Falcon.

I'm planning on putting some fibre optics in that beautiful thing. I have no experience in that and I'm wondering how to bend them and how much they can be bent? The model is quite small (1/144) so space inside the hull is limited. I'm gonna have to have some heavy planning on the lights. I have fibres in 0.25mm/ 0.5mm/ 1mm/ 2mm

I've tried to google this but didn't really find anything useful. Also I'm wondering how to glue them. Found mixed answers on google but I figure this place has some experts on this matter.

I'm assuming I can paint the fibers with a Vallejo acrylic black paint to get some protection for light leakeage? There will be leds along with the fibers so I should need to paint the fibre next to a led to avoid the led affecting the fibre's own light?

A huge thanks in advance and don't worry, I'm gonna be posting a build log after this project is finished. I'm taking pictures along the build.

All the best,
Jesse

Lähetetty minun ONEPLUS A3003 laitteesta Tapatalkilla

I am a novice as I just completed my first kit that I've ever lit - but I can share what I have learned.

You cannot bend the fibers into sharp angles because the light will be disrupted and/or you will break the fibers. The smaller diameter fibers will curve at tighter tolerances than the larger diameter fibers, but attempting to bend the fibers at hard angles diminishes the amount of light at the end.