Battle Damaged Batwing

PeteVenkman

Hello all, here is another project I have going on the side when I need to take a breather from my TOS bridge build. Apologies for the long-winded intro, this kit has a 20+ year history.

I originally bought this model back when it first came out, in 1990 if I remember correctly, while I was in high school. At the time I thought that this was the coolest Bat-plane ever designed, and I still do. I remember that I wanted to take my time building this so it would look it's best. My modelling kung-fu was less impressive at that time, in those days I hardly even painted my kits. I just slapped them together and threw the decals on in one day builds that I was happy with. But this one I wanted to be different and so I slowly started to assemble it.

By the time I graduated in '91 and moved out on my own the kit sat about 2/3rds completed and was forgotten about. I moved on and learned to play music. I spent my days busking and my nights playing with bands and pushed all thoughts of toys and models out of my mind. After all, that was kids stuff, right? Music, drawing and women were all that mattered to me.

Ka is a wheel. Around '97 I got bitten by the building and collecting bug in a bad way. It started out innocently enough, a couple of the 'new' Power of the Force action figures (an R2-D2 and C-3PO) and grew from there. Little did I realize I had stared down the path of the beam to my own Dark Tower. A path that has brought me here. In 2001 I discovered Proptopia and ASAP. That's when I knew building was going to part of my life forever.