All-resin training remote

ganesha7

All-resin, that is, except for the styrene rings&strips, of course.
The rest has been cast from real kit parts.
My choice is based on optimizing some rare to find kits, also I had some silicon left from another project.
I'm halfway through (still some sanding to do) and I'm unsure about the thickness of said rings.
I cut them out of a vac-formed 1 mm thick styrene sheet hoping that the process would reduce it to roughly .75mm, but it still looks too thick to my eye.
Any thoughts/pieces of advice would be thoroughly appreciated!

Attachments

• IMG_20200702_180420.jpg
    IMG_20200702_180420.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 213
  • Remote_detail.jpg
    Remote_detail.jpg
    617.4 KB · Views: 188
I've honestly never thought of it, since I'm not a professional modelmaker and, though I am somewhat experienced in mold making, I don't consider my castings good enough to charge for them...
PM me and we can talk about it.

I've honestly never thought of it, since I'm not a professional modelmaker and, though I am somewhat experienced in mold making, I don't consider my castings good enough to charge for them...
PM me and we can talk about it.

Thank you so much for the offer!
Sent you a PM

Small update...
Again, the thickness of the styrene rectangles looks a bit too much for me.
But I'm starting to get used to these proportions and I'm being tempted to leave it like that.
Any help from a fresh set of eyes would be massively appreciated!

Attachments

• IMG_20200706_094126.jpg
    IMG_20200706_094126.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 139
  • IMG_20200706_094135.jpg
    IMG_20200706_094135.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 139
I've been slightly distracted from the remote, but yesterday I decided to sand down all the styrene parts, including both rectangles and rings.
I'm glad I did it. I'm much happier now with how it all fits together and the fact that using this method I've ended up with an uneven thickness doesn't bother me too much.