Alien Isolation-Inspired "Seegson Vidicom"

Discussion in 'Replica Props' started by XRaySpecs, Jun 10, 2015.

1. XRaySpecs

XRaySpecs New Member

Hi all,

Let me start with a lil’ disclaimer/introduction:
    1) I am a total amateur, working entirely with hand tools since I live in an apartment and have been forbidden from using power tools by She Who Rules, lest we disturb the neighbours. Please try to overlook any spots of poor build quality!
    2) I want to show this off, but that doesn’t mean I’m happy with everything on it. For example, the U-shaped plate around the handset warped when I spraypainted it, and I know my keycard handle looks like it belongs in a kid’s wooden building blocks set. I just had to get it to a relatively finished state before I lost my mind.
    3) By some cosmic coincidence, Adam Savage’s “Star Trek Captain’s Chair” build video came out just as I was entering the latter stages of building this. Our concepts are pretty similar!
    (Link if you haven’t seen it: youtu.be/jaVi06DaTk0)
    A big thanks to Mr. Savage and the Tested team for giving me a major boost of motivation to get this done, in the “if they can do it, then so can I” sense...! (And yes, my “Working Joe” button is directly inspired by the “Call me Scotty” button.)

So! I’m an Alien series fan, and I was really happy when the game Alien: Isolation came out. I’ve spent many a terrified hour wandering the corridors of Sevastopol station. I wanted to create something that looked like it would fit into that universe, specifically borrowing the “Seegson” corporate aesthetic from the game – I really like its sense of being a failing company as counterpart to the ubiquitous and omnipotent Weyland-Yutani.

I’ll shut up now and let video me do the talking. (Forgive the casual tone of the video, it was originally shot for upload to Facebook.) If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Thanks for taking a look; you are all perfect organisms.

XRay