Advice needed for casting large open model parts

userd1402

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
I hope this is the best place to ask for help with a new project I'm just getting into. I am building a master model for a studio-scale item from a film (that's as clear as I can be for the moment) and I need to replicate it several times but it's pretty big.

The overal size of the completed part will be 600mm high x 450mm wide and about 180mm deep and it's got to have an open back for the installation of electrics and other things. I have thought of three ways I could make copies of it; A fiberglass mold made with matt and resin, which would be nice and rigid but would probably require I make only fiberglass copies (not sure as I have never used fiberglass before). Another method would be to get vacuum-formed copies made in rigid plastic by a commercial thermo-forming company but there may be a large set up and minimum order quantity problems with that idea (and my mdf and car-body filler model might not be quite good enough too).

The last method I'm thinking about is a silicone/rubber mold and then poured resin copies. This method is probably the most suitable for someone like me to do in my own workshop at home so I'm looking into it seriously but nobody seems to be able to tell me how to pour resin into open molds and achieve large parts like this;

SW-Lamp-01.jpg

Everyone I have spoken to says they either make solid resin casts (which are obviously small) or if they need hollow casts they use a roto-cast frame but this piece will be a BIG wooden box (for rigidity and alignment) filled with rubber and resin which I estamate will weight over 10 kilos or they make a two-part mold with an 'inside' surface and an 'outside' surface and pour resin in between the two but I don't know if I will be able to create my pattern again as a smaller 'inside' part.

So, can I pour resin into a large open mould and achieve a 'skin' somehow?