3D printed Beskar Steel bar

Kylash

Master Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
This is my first time giving my go at 3D modeling, using TinkerCAD, because its simple. I modeled this and then made an SVG of several photos of damascus steel and extruded and removed a thin layer from the main model with it on all sides.

I then printed it on my new ElegooMars in clear blue resin. The supports worked well aside from the very bottom edge where there is some distortion for some reason.

This is about 5.5" x 3", barely fitting within the volume for that printer. The damascus pattern was intentionally made deeper than I needed so I can sand the faces flat until it's barely there and then mold and cast in coldcast resin and give a black wash and hope it stays on those subtle patterns. In the sanding process I'l also round out the edges of the Imperial logo to make it look more like a stamp and give the outer edges some roundness.

Screen Shot 2019-11-18 at 10.49.26 AM.png
IMG_4609.JPG
IMG_4610.JPG
IMG_4611.JPG

Last edited:
This is my first 3D modeling try, using TinkerCAD because its simple. I modeled this and then made an SVG of several photos of damascus steel and extruded and removed a thin layer from the main model with it on all sides.

I then printed it on my ElegooMars in clear blue resin.

This is about 5.5" x 3", barely fitting within the volume for that printer. The damascus pattern was intentionally made deeper than I needed so I can sand the faces flat until it's barely there and then mold and cast in coldcast resin and give a black wash and hope it stays on those subtle patterns.
If there's a pic, it's not showing up my friend.

Really excited to see the result!

This actually printed smaller than I had intended, so I need to do another one, and then the cleanup and molding before I'm positive I can make more.

Reprinted at a slightly larger size and textured the edged with a better swirl pattern. Ill post more pictures once primed!