2012 Dredd 3D Printed Helmet Build

DiggsBarklightr

Starting my first 3D helmet build of the 2012 Dredd helmet. As you can see, this portion barely fits on my build plate of the Ender 3 Pro. We'll see how it goes!

dredd1.jpg

DiggsBarklightr

So far so good. I’m extremely new to the 3D print world so this is all a learning experience as I go. Once this section is done I’ll tune the settings a little and go from there.

EB2211CD-38C0-4167-88BA-671BB791AA5B.jpeg

DiggsBarklightr

Wow! I've been 3d printing for a few years but I'm just getting used to my new Ender 5. This is looking VERY tasty. :)
Thanks! So far I'm happy with the way the Endor prints. Had to switch to a clear/white PLA for the second print as I was running out of the black. Hopefully it's the same print quality since it's the same company.

DiggsBarklightr

Ok thanks, because their were some bad reviews about it breaking down after it was built.
From what I’ve read before I bought it, the 3 Pro vs the 3 is a big improvement, especially the Y axis. The only issue I had was when I put it together and I had the Z motor rod too tight. Otherwise have had no issues at all.

funboy1013xx

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
curious, I thought the printer beds were better off "smooth as glass". your's look's textured? either way the helmet is looking great so far. (y)

DiggsBarklightr

Thank you :). It’s a magnetic bed so I’m using a magnetic sheet the pulls off. Just a slight bend to the magnetic build sheet and everything pops off and no need to jab at the base of the build with the spatula.

DiggsBarklightr

The two top halves of the helmet line up perfectly and nothing is warped. Printed a bottom piece overnight and it's looking just fine as well. The top kind of looks like a Deathstroke/Dredd mashup :lol:. Filling the seams and sanding this should be a breeze.

1.jpg

2.jpg

DiggsBarklightr