2' Enterprise 1701-D

CJP

I know that the studio model has disappeared, but what data exists for it?

Was the length actually 24"?

Are there any online repositories of photos of this version of the D? Or does anyone have any good photos that they would share? (PM me if necessary.. :))

Chris

I was an intern on the show during the latter portion of third season, just after they transitioned to the 4' model. The 6' Ent-D was around, but not used. In fact, it went into storage not soon after I started. I never saw a smaller version. It may not have been used for anything more than the "Encounter at Farpoint" episode + some stock footage elements ILM shot.

Gene

Those are Starlog pages, right? God I miss those cream colored pages and garish pinkish headers.... it used to be such a trove of info for geeks stuck in East Coast sailing towns.

Those are Starlog pages, right? God I miss those cream colored pages and garish pinkish headers.... it used to be such a trove of info for geeks stuck in East Coast sailing towns.
It was a STTNG mag from the same publisher as Starlog. Here's the cover.

I was an intern on the show during the latter portion of third season, just after they transitioned to the 4' model. The 6' Ent-D was around, but not used. In fact, it went into storage not soon after I started. I never saw a smaller version. It may not have been used for anything more than the "Encounter at Farpoint" episode + some stock footage elements ILM shot.

Gene

Gene -
I read in another article (that I can't find at the moment) that the smaller 2' Enterprise was used in the warp effect shot for the Enterprise. The Flash we see from the warp engines helps disguise the transition from the 6' to the 2' model.

Last edited:
Gene -
I read in another article (that I can't find at the moment) that the smaller 2' Enterprise was used in the warp effect shot for the Enterprise. The Flash we see from the warp engines helps disguise the transition from the 6' to the 2' model.