2' Enterprise 1701-D

Discussion in 'Studio Scale Models' started by CJP, May 16, 2012.

1. CJP

CJP Well-Known Member

I know that the studio model has disappeared, but what data exists for it?

Was the length actually 24"?

Are there any online repositories of photos of this version of the D? Or does anyone have any good photos that they would share? (PM me if necessary.. :))

Chris

2. robn1

robn1 Master Member

I have this mag article detailing the building of the six and two foot models.

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

DB537 likes this.
  3. Monster Dave

Monster Dave Sr Member

WOW!! That's cool! Thanks for posting the article pics - I love that stuff!!

4. Ketzer.com

Ketzer.com Sr Member

Awesome! Thank you for that article!!!

Tim

5. GKvfx

GKvfx Sr Member

I was an intern on the show during the latter portion of third season, just after they transitioned to the 4' model. The 6' Ent-D was around, but not used. In fact, it went into storage not soon after I started. I never saw a smaller version. It may not have been used for anything more than the "Encounter at Farpoint" episode + some stock footage elements ILM shot.

Gene

6. moffeaton

moffeaton Master Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Those are Starlog pages, right? God I miss those cream colored pages and garish pinkish headers.... it used to be such a trove of info for geeks stuck in East Coast sailing towns.

7. robn1

robn1 Master Member

It was a STTNG mag from the same publisher as Starlog. Here's the cover.
    [​IMG]

8. moffeaton

moffeaton Master Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Ahh, I had those too... yeah, same people.

9. fraley1701

fraley1701 Member

Gene -
    I read in another article (that I can't find at the moment) that the smaller 2' Enterprise was used in the warp effect shot for the Enterprise. The Flash we see from the warp engines helps disguise the transition from the 6' to the 2' model.