1/350 enterprise d 6 footer

Galaxyman1701d

I am a custom automotive painter/bodyman and have always wanted to build a big enterprise d. After seeing some of the projects on this site I was inspired to start a 1/350 enterprise d. Figured I would start with the nacelles and go from there. Also did a test board to see if I could find a better way to mask the windows, I was very happy with the results. I started out masking the windows, sealer/priming the surface, then built up with three colors for the aztec scheme (the model will have the four colors though), gloss clearcoated with automotive clearcoat, then a sanded down to the tape I layed out for the windows, then I flat clearcoated and pulled the tape. It left a nice clean window edge which I followed with some gloss clear in the window. Any suggestions throughout the build would be appreciated!

Am constantly checking reference from Christie's Auction. Will recruit my dads help for fiberglass molds definately! Thanks for the interest. Will upload more pics soon!

Here is some more pics, just to show you the size of this monster!:eek My wife has already told me it has to stay in the garage,:behave but I am trying to convince my 11 year old to hang it as a bedroom light....cant wait to do the saucer!

***UPDATE***
Got started on the secondary hull of the beast this weekend, just wanted to post some pics!
Ribbed up with 1/4" mdf, was nice and easy to cut and sand to shape.
Also sprayed another coat of primer on the nacelle, starting to look pretty good!
Gotta keep rollin while the inspiration and motivation is going!

I am using the enterprise d blueprints scaled up....for the most part they are pretty accurate. But I do have slight issue with the window placement and the fact there is a row of windows missing on the lower part of the secondary hull. So I will do my best to replicate the 6 foot studio model.