Bumblebee Costume

aztravis

Hey all. Noob here and I just wanted to share what I am attempting to build. I have somewhat framed out an 8 - 8.5 foot tall BB costume using drywall stilts. I have framed with wood and plan on using foam for exterior. My brother, cousin, and myself are in this together and have gotten this much done in 2 three hour sessions. I am more and more getting overwhelmed by the experience and quality coming out of this forum. There are some amazing replicas from many a user!

View attachment 34999
View attachment 35000
View attachment 35001

Now that I have buttered you up I am requesting some help. I was up till 2 am searching the forum but I could not find the exact answer I was looking for so if anyone would please direct me or answer my questions I would be ever so happy. here goes...

- I plan on using the blue "camping mat" foam for my exterior. what resin/bondo would be the best to create a smooth carlike finish?

- Is hot glue the best adhesive for foam to foam? what about foam to wood?

- Does the resin stick to the foam very well?

I know are probably questions that have been answered already somewhere on the forum and I apologize already for that.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

Looks like this is going to be one awesome project! Are you planning on seeing out of Bumblebee's chest portion? Awesome.

Paul D.

Yeah the chest is going to come out about a foot and a half and it will leave room for some electronics for lights and sounds. I just need to be careful and not make it too frontheavy. I used a nice adjustable camelpack so it is comfortable.

Yeah, hot glue and foam is not going to work. It'll melt the foam.

It looks like there's some very good info on that Iron Man thread.

What? No, hot glue and foam is the way it works. It's about the best bonding agent you'll find, and glue gun temps are not anywhere near hot enough to melt the foam unless you've got some kind of ridiculous industrial equipment.