Casting with Clear Resin?

BarryZ28

Hello all.

I am giving casting a try and using Clear Polyester Casting Resin made by "Castin' Craft" and not getting very good results.
My molds are made of RTV Silicon and freshly molded.
Yet the finished product from the mold is substandard.

Is there a better resin I should be trying or am I doing something wrong with the Castin' Craft resin?
Any hints would be helpful.
Oh, and yes I am new to the resin casting world.

Thanks, Barry. :(

Some silicones exude alcohol after curing, you might want to try warming up your molds before mixing-up and pouring your clear resin into the mold.
(Also make sure that you thoroughly mix the material)

Years ago when I worked at Icons we did some tests for the Batman and Robin Batarang bases, one of which was Clear like Ice, we pre-heated the molds and that did the trick so we didn't have a tacky surface.

Castin' Craft resin is one of the worst products on the market.

Smooth On makes some great resins and in fact, I'm using Crystal Clear 220 right now. No, really. I have a batch in the pressure pot as I'm typing this.

:D

Originally posted by blufive@Jun 18 2005, 02:35 PM
Castin' Craft resin is one of the worst products on the market.

Smooth On makes some great resins and in fact, I'm using Crystal Clear 220 right now.  No, really.  I have a batch in the pressure pot as I'm typing this.

:D
[snapback]1015412[/snapback]​

Ya but Crystal Clear 220 says not for home use, only for industrial use and to use Smooth-On mold max silicone.
Also to heat mold prior to pouring casting material.
Sounds good but many hoops to jump through to get it to work.
That would mean ordering a whole new kit for casting and mold making.

Do you mean me? You have to use a pressure pot with Smooth On or you'll get bubbles.

As far as I know, any quality resin will require pressure casting. Floral resins and Castin' Craft can cure without a pressure pot but the finished result is often times less than desirable.