Alginate question

Ramirez

Apologies if this isn't the right place to ask:

I want to make a cast of my hand for a project, using alginate for the mould.

I've never used alginate before, can i pour plastic/resin into the mould or do i need to make a preliminary cast from plaster, seal it, make a new mould from silicone and then cast it in resin?

I've never tried pouring a plastic/resin into alginate...
It seems like a plaster positive would be easier to clean up for another mold however.
Best I could tell you would be to go the usual route and pour up in plaster or Ultra-Cal and work off of that.
I highly recomend "Body Double" from Smooth-on though for your next body part replication.
It's a silicone that can be brushed directly onto the skin.
If you make your mold strong enough and use a good mother-mold with it you can pour up almost as many duplicates as you want in almost any medium (except latex).
Good luck!

Apologies if this isn't the right place to ask:

I want to make a cast of my hand for a project, using alginate for the mould.

I've never used alginate before, can i pour plastic/resin into the mould or do i need to make a preliminary cast from plaster, seal it, make a new mould from silicone and then cast it in resin?